We use Workflows for most of our flows. It would be helpful to have an active or published status for each node, so we can control whether it is available for use in a workflow.
As our needs evolve, we may create multiple nodes but not need all of them immediately. Being able to deactivate nodes temporarily and enable them later would let us keep them available for future workflows without using them in the meantime.